Manas at a Glance

Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University

Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University is a public institute of higher education, founded on a charter signed by the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic and the Government of the Republic of Turkey. The charter was signed on September 30, 1995, in Izmir, Turkey, and created Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University.  The University presents students with diplomas that are officially recognized in Kyrgyzstan and in Turkey, as well as in other countries.

The first students began their studies in the 1997-1998 academic year in the fields of Turkology, History, Management, and Computer Engineering. The first class consisted of 86 students and 38 professors. In the 2017-2018 academic year, there were a total 5,950 students studying in 9 faculties (Humanities, Sciences, Economics and Management, Theology, Communications, Engineering, Veterinary Medicine, Agriculture, and Arts), 3 schools (Physical Culture and Sports, Tourism and Hotel Management and Foreign Languages), and one School of Vocational Education. There are currently 374 faculty and staff members and 298 administrative personnel working in management, finance, and upkeep of the university.

The governments of the Kyrgyz Republic and the Republic of Turkey reviewed the 1995 charter to make sure that it was properly updated for modern times, and on April 26, 2011, signed a new agreement about the continuing work of Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University. KTMU has since become one of the leading universities in Central Asia based on the strength of its academic programs and research work, as well as its work with the broader community. Faculty and staff are evaluated based not only on their teaching abilities, but also on the work that they publish in internationally indexed journals (SCI, SSCI, AHCI), their participation in international research projects, and their knowledge of foreign languages.

 University which is open to all kinds of cooperation with other universities has about 200 cooperation agreements with universities and organizations from 20 countries. University allows its teaching staff and students to participate in exchange programs, as well as to conduct joint scientific projects. Our university conducts a lot of scientific projects in different fields of education with its partner universities. In addition, a lot of scientific meetings are organized on the basis of our University.  Also opportunities are open to researchers to make research in the cradle of Turkic civilization of Central Asia.