The First General Assembly of the Central Asian Universities Association (CAUA), which was established by Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University (KTMU) and headed by the Rector of KTMU Prof.Dr. Sebahattin Balcı, was held .
The Chairman of CAUA and Rector of KTMU Prof.Dr. Sebahattin Balci, the coordinator of CAUA Assoc.Prof. Yunus Emre Gurbuz, head of Turkish Civilization Research and Application Center Assis.Prof. Cengiz Buyar and History Department Faculty Member Dayan Kamal attended the meeting held on 15-16 November 2017, hosted by Mohaghegh Erdebili University in the Erdebil, Iran.  A seminar titled "Internationalization in Education" and a University Promotion Fair were organized before the General Assembly.
35 representatives including 11 rectors from 16 universities participated in the meeting held in Erdebil. Erdebil was represented by 13 guests from East Azerbaijan, West Azerbaijan and Gilan, and 1 from neighboring Georgia. Iranian officials also took part at the meeting.
The First General Assembly of the Association was held under the leadership of Association's Chairman Prof. Dr. Balcı on November 16, 2017. The work that has been carried out since the establishment of the Association was passed at the General Assembly, and the Regulation approved by the Executive Board at the KTMU meeting on April 14, 2017 was presented and accepted. In addition, "CAUA Exchange Program Directive" and "MAUB Student Council Directive" prepared in Turkish and English for 2018-2019 Academic-Education Year were presented to the members of the General Assembly and were approved.
Following the successful two-day meetings in terms of unity, a social program prepared by Erdebil University was carried out.
CAUA aims to act jointly with the member universities in activities and projects in various fields such as education and training, scientific research, collecting service, internationalization, culture, arts and sports.
The Union is consist of  60 universities from 16 countries including Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, People's Republic of China, Georgia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, South Korea, Macedonia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkey and Ukraine.